Falmouth Fire Rescue Department holds annual recognition ceremony

FALMOUTH – The Falmouth Fire and Rescue Department held a recognition and awards ceremony Friday afternoon at their headquarters on Main St., honoring achievements and acts of heroism over the past year.

The event also included a moment of silence for recently passed firefighters, a presentation of retirement badges and a recognition of recent promotions.

Fire Chief Michael Small said it was important to recognize the men and women who risk their lives every day to keep residents and visitors to Falmouth safe.


Heroic Life-saving Act at Marine Park – Civilian Greg Ferrick. He was recognized for stopping a car whose driver had fallen out in a crash from running into a group of people at a farmer’s market.

Off-duty Cardiac Arrest ResponseDeputy Chief Timothy R. Smith

Off-duty Drug Overdose Response – Deputy Chief Scott J. Thrasher

Beebe Woods rescueDeputy Chief Scott J. Thrasher, Captain Robert T. Bergeron Jr., Lt. Ann M. Bartos, Firefighters Benjamin T. Wellington & Robert A. Martino. All five were honored for rescuing a 12-year-old who had become unresponsive last July at Punchbowl Pond in the Beebe Woods

New Engine 25 Design Committee Volunteers – Deputy Chief Scott J. Thrasher, Lt. Ann M. Bartos, Lt. Scott T. Starboard, Master Mechanic John Rose, Assistant Mechanic John Elliot, Firefighters Patrick W. Friel, & Michael A. Muller

USCG Certified Marine Operators – Lt. Ann M. Bartos, Firefighters Michael C. Zuniga, Sean K Ellis, Randy M. Koslowsky, Jonathan M. Borselli & Brendon M. Freitas

Police Department Recognition for Honor Guard Presentation – EMS Supervisor Lt. Craig B. O’Malley

Presentation of Retirement Badge

Russell R. Ferreira – September 1987 to April 2017

Todd A. Taylor – July 1990 to July 2017

Michael C. Metell – July 1987 to June 2017

Scott R. Williamson – September 1987 to July 2017

Recognition of Permanent Promotion

Robert T. Bergeron Jr. – Fire Captain – December 6, 2015

Jeffrey Waggett – Fire Lieutenant – December 6, 2015

Ryan P. Gavin – Fire Captain – August 10, 2017

Allen Rivera – Fire Prevention Inspector – July 9, 2017

Moment of Silence for our Fallen Brothers

Retired Fire Alarm Superintendent Richard L. Oliver – November 18, 2016

Retired Fire Chief Paul D. Brodeur – January 20, 2017

Retired Captain E. Michael “Mickey” Moniz – March 13, 2017

Dr. Evan P. Weinstein, MD – April 5, 2017

Captain Gregory Clements – July 30, 2017


737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy