3 Cape Students Receive Mass Broadcasters Association Scholarships

StudentsMEDFORD – The Massachusetts Broadcasters Association has awarded 10 students across the state with 2016-2017 Student Broadcaster Scholarships and three recipients were from Cape Cod.

Katie Curran, of Pocasset, who is attending Columbia University, and Harwich’s Cassandra Hall, who is attending the University of New Hampshire, were each awarded $2,000.

Saarah Murphy, of Hyannis, who attends the University of Massachusetts Amherst, was the Al Sprague Memorial Scholarship winner and was awarded $3,000.

The Student Broadcaster Scholarships are given to students pursuing a career in over-the-air broadcasting and enrolled in a broadcast program at a two of four-year accredited school.

The 10 scholarship winners were selected from nearly 100 applicants and were chosen based on financial need, academic achievement, extracurricular and community involvement and an essay about their interest in broadcasting by representatives from participating radio and television stations.

About CapeCod.com NewsCenter

The award-winning CapeCod.com NewsCenter provides the Cape Cod community with a constant, credible source for local news. We are on the job seven days a week.

Speak Your Mind


737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy