Bourne Police Officer Jared MacDonald Honored with State Award


Officer Jared MacDonald

BOURNE – Twenty-two police officers from six departments across the state were honored this week by Governor Charlie Baker for their exemplary acts of bravery carried out in the course of their duties.

Members of the Bourne Police Department were among the honorees of the 33rd Annual Trooper George L. Hanna Memorial Awards for Bravery.

Bourne Police Officer Jared MacDonald was among the recipients of the Medal of Honor award for his actions on February 5, 2015.

MacDonald was wounded in an incident at a large apartment complex, while responding to a motor vehicle fire.

State Trooper Nathan Monteiro, Bourne Detective Sergeant John Stowe, Jr. Bourne Sergeant Wallace J. Perry IV and Bourne Officer Joshua Parsons were honored with the Medal of Valor award for their actions during the same incident.

The George L. Hanna Awards for Bravery are named in memory of State Trooper George L. Hanna who was shot and killed in the line of duty during a traffic stop in Auburn in 1983.

About NewsCenter

The award-winning NewsCenter provides the Cape Cod community with a constant, credible source for local news. We are on the job seven days a week.

Speak Your Mind

737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy