Cape Cod Voters Cast Ballots in Contested Races and Override Questions

YARMOUTH – Yarmouth voters narrowly approved a tax override for the Dennis-Yarmouth Regional School District and elected a new selectmen in Tuesday’s election.

The town was one of eight that held elections across Cape Cod.

The $570,000 override that was approved at town meeting earlier this month, passed by a slim 79 vote margin, 1,361 to 1,282.

In a three-way contest for one seat of the Board of Selectmen, Mark Forest won with 1,782 votes. Jane Hibbert came in second with 527 votes and Joe Glynn in third with 295 votes.

For Dennis-Yarmouth Regional School Committee, Phillip Morris and Andrea St. Germain won two available seats, defeating incumbent Michelle Conover and Joe Glynn.

In Orleans, David Currier and Mefford Runyon won two available seats on the Board of Selectmen. Erik Oliver finished out of the running.

Voters also approved override questions for a DPW building, wastewater treatment, a Nauset Regional High School building study and demolition of the Tri-Town Septage Plant.

In Falmouth, selectmen incumbents Sam Patterson and Susan Moran were re-elected, holding off a challenge from Marc Finneran.

For school committee, Terri Ann Medeiros, Meghan Cummings Fleck and Andrea Thorrold won the three available seats. Incumbent Alan Jacobs was not re-elected.

Falmouth voters approved plans for a new senior center that will be built next to the Gus Canty Center and a ban on the sale of recreational marijuana in town.

In Mashpee’s election Tuesday, selectmen incumbents Andrew Gottlieb and John Cahalane were re-elected. Voters also approved a tax override for the window and door project at the Quashnet School and

Mashpee School Committee members Nicole Bartlett and Christopher Santos were re-elected.

In Bourne, Jennifer O’Neil, Mitchell McClain and Steven Strojny won seats on the school committee.

Harwich voters elected Don Howell and Larry Ballantine of the board of selectmen. Rob Mador finished a close third and out of the running. Money for Saquatucket Harbor improvements and a plan to connect parts of East Harwich to the Chatham sewer system won approval.
In Eastham, Martin McDonald and Aimee Eckman were elected to the board of selectmen. Voters also approved money for the Tri-Town Septage plant demolition and the Nauset Regional High School study.
There were no contested race on the ballot in Brewster.
About NewsCenter

The award-winning NewsCenter provides the Cape Cod community with a constant, credible source for local news. We are on the job seven days a week.