Barnstable Town Council Remembers Fallen Leader

BARNSTABLE – Thursday night’s Barnstable Town Council meeting was the final for three members and the first without President Jim Crocker, who died last month.

John Flores, Philip Wallace, and James Tinsley will not be in office after next week.

Flores and Wallace lost elections this week to Gordon Starr and Kris Clark, respectively, while Tinsley has reached his term limit. He will be replaced by Tracy Shaughnessy.

Elizabeth Wurfbain, Executive Director of the Hyannis Main Street Business Improvement District, spoke about the services provided by Flores, Wallace, and Tinsley.

“I’m representing our board of directors, and many of the merchants on the street, to say thank you to those of you that are leaving, that have given great time to your civic duty in our town,” Wurfbain said.

Thursday evening also marked the first meeting without Crocker.

Members of the council, including Debra Dagwan, remembered Crocker fondly and shared memories of the man.

“He always looked out for me,” Dagwan remarked.

“He always included me when we did social events and whatnot, so that sticks with me.”

David Bogan won Crocker’s seat during the election.

Starr, Clark, Shaughnessy, and Bogan will be sworn into office on November 18. Their first meeting as a part of the Barnstable Town Council will be on November 21.

About Brendan Fitzpatrick

Brendan, a recent graduate from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, is one of the newest members of the NewsCenter team. When not on the beat, you'll probably find him watching Boston sports.
737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy