Incumbents Retain Seats in State Committee Elections

Fran Manzelli

Fran Manzelli

HYANNIS – Two incumbents who faced challenges for their Republican State Committee seats were re-elected yesterday.

In the Cape and Islands State Senate District, Fran Manzelli easily beat back a challenge from Ronald Beaty and Devin Manning with 59% of the vote.

Beaty finished in second with 24%, followed by Manning with 17% of the vote.

In the Plymouth-Barnstable State Senate District for state committeewoman, incumbent Barbara McCoy defeated challenger Linda Zuern 62% to 38%.

Many of the Republican committee races across the state this year shaped up as contests between more right-leaning conservative Republicans and more moderate members of the party.

The state committee of each party includes one man and one woman from each of the 40 state senatorial districts in Massachusetts.

They are elected at the presidential primary election for a four year term.

State committees of political parties are organized under Massachusetts General Law to promote the aims of each party; work in cooperation with the national committee and with town committees and to organize and work for the nomination and election of party candidates.

By MATT PITTA, News Director

About NewsCenter

The award-winning NewsCenter provides the Cape Cod community with a constant, credible source for local news. We are on the job seven days a week.

Speak Your Mind

737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy