Gay Head Light To Be Re-Lit in August

COURTESY OF SAVE THE GAY HEAD LIGHT COMMITTEE The Gay Head Lighthouse was built in 1856.

COURTESY OF SAVE THE GAY HEAD LIGHT COMMITTEE
The Gay Head Lighthouse was built in 1856.

AQUINNAH – The iconic Gay Head Light will be re-lit in August after the structure was moved to its new location in May.

The light has been shut off since mid-April, prior to a painstaking move of the 160-year old lighthouse, which was threatened because of erosion to the red clay cliffs where it stands.

A re-lighting ceremony will be held on August 11th at 5:30 pm, ending the longest period of darkness in the light’s history.

Residents raised $3.4 million to save the structure and move it 135 feet away from its previous location, which was just 46 feet away from an eroding cliff. It was listed as one of America’s 11 most endangered history places prior to the move.

Speak Your Mind

*



CapeCod.com
737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy