AMERICAN LEGION: District 10 Announces Postseason Awards

BRIDGEWATER – The District 10 American Legion baseball front office announced its postseason All-District First and Second Team accolades yesterday, in addition to its annual awards and honors.

Although Kingston Post 387 bowed out of postseason contention to District 10 champion Hawkeye Athletic Club of East Bridgewater, outfielder/right-handed pitcher Adam Gay was voted the 2015 District 10 Most Valuable Player after a superlative season.

Post 206's Jake Gleason belted three homers, had 24 RBI and batted .380 in his first Legion campaign in addition to going 3-1 on the mound with a 2.14 ERA. Sean Walsh/ Sports

Post 206’s Jake Gleason belted three homers, had 24 RBI and batted .380 in his first Legion campaign in addition to going 3-1 on the mound with a 2.14 ERA.
Sean Walsh/ Sports

Heading to Massasoit Community College in the fall, Gay belted an incredible (8) eight home runs on the season to go along with a .509 batting average and 41 RBI as well as 16 stolen bases. He had 42 hits on the season, 16 for extra bases. In five starts on the pitcher’s mound, Gay went 4-0 with 29 1/3 innings pitched, struck out 16 and boasted a 1.67 earned run average. Gay is a graduate of Silver Lake Regional High School.

The 2015 District 10 Pitcher of the Year honors was a much closer call than Gay’s selection for District 10 Most Valuable Player, with Hawkeye AC’s Mike Kelly getting the nod after a rock-solid season that paced the District 10 champions into their state tournament bid.

Kelly went 5-1 on the season with a 1.90 earned run average and struck out 37 in 46 innings of work while walking just 18. His sole loss came at the hands of Barnstable Post 206 whose righty Conor Walsh was the runner-up for Pitcher of the Year honors with a 5-2 record and 46 strikeouts in 48 innings of work. He walked 16 and had a 2.04 earned run average.

District 10 Coach of the Year honors went unanimously to Hawkeye Athletic Club head coach Tim Graham who paced his team to a 24-5 mark and both the West Division and District 10 championship crowns. Under Graham’s tutelage, Hawkeye won 21 straight games through to the playoffs. Only Kingston Post 387 and Barnstable Post 206 handed Hawkeye defeats during the season and playoffs.

In like fashion, it was District 10 Executive of the Year Mike Jenkins who helped steer Hawkeye AC to its finest season to date as the club’s general manager. His honor was also a unanimous vote.

After being named District 10 American Legion Umpire of the Year for three consecutive seasons (2012-2014), Brockton’s Peter Marciano was narrowly edged out this year by newcomer Joe Verrochi.

Verrochi, a 1985 graduate of Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School and The Citadel, had been a longtime professional umpire in Atlanta, Georgia before returning to the area this summer and was immediately recognized for his professionalism, courtesy, demeanor and knowledge of the baseball.

2015 District 10 American Legion All-District Team, First Team

Barnstable Post 206:
Conor Walsh, RHP (Clark University)
Eric Holzman, RHP/1B (Barnstable High School)
Mike Knell, SS, (Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School)
Jake Gleason, OF/RHP (Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School)
Brockton Post 35:
Patrick Healy, RHP (Brockton High School)
Hanover Post 149:
Liam Flynn, OF (Hanover High School)
Hawkeye AC:
Cory Wasylow, OF, (Bridgewater-Raynham High School)
Connor Gavin, RHP, (East Bridgewater High School)
Ty Jenkins, OF, (East Bridgewater High School)
Ryan Graham, RHP, (East Bridgewater High School)
Hingham Post 120:
Robert Lawton, OF, (Braintree High School)
Kingston Post 387:
Devon King, OF (Thayer Academy)
Will Gallagher, RHP, (Silver Lake Regional High School)
Adam Gay, OF/RHP, (Silver Lake Regional High School)
Marshfield Post 88:
Brendan Calos, C, (Marshfield High School)
Frank Catanoso, OF, (Marshfield High School)
Nick Fontana, OF, (Marshfield High School)
Brian Kwedor, RHP, (Marshfield High School)
Orleans Post 308:
Kino Gray, OF, (Nauset Regional High School)
Plymouth Post 40:
Tim Elrick, OF, (Wentworth Institute of Technology)
Colin Nicklas, SS, (Plymouth North High School)
Kyle Mann, RHP, (Plymouth North High School)
Brett Cabral, OF, (Plymouth North High School)
Sandwich Post 188:
Nick Couhig, RHP, (Falmouth High School)
Luke Chevalier, RHP/OF (Northern State University)
Colin Russell, 3B, (Eastern Connecticut State University)
Kevin Marsh, OF/RHP (St. John Paul II High School)
Wareham Post 22:
Sam Bacchiocci, RHP, (Tabor Academy)
Wiley Knight, C/OF (Tabor Academy)
Austin Salkind, INF, (Old Rochester Regional High School)
Bryant Salkind, INF/RHP (Old Rochester regional High School)
Whitman Post 22:
Nick Spyropolous, 3B, (Whitman-Hanson Regional High School)
Colin Josselyn, 1B, (Whitman-Hanson Regional High School)
Tim DeCouto, RHP, (Whitman-Hanson Regional High School)
Tommy Chmura, SS  (Whitman-Hanson Regional High School)

2015 District 10 American Legion All-District Team, Second Team

Barnstable Post 206:
Jackson Badot, OF/LHP, (Barnstable High School)
Gary DiSarcina Jr., 2B, (Barnstable High School)
Hawkeye AC:
Jake Pierce, 3B, (East Bridgewater High School)
Chris Leavitt, C, (East Bridgewater High School)
Marshfield Post 88:
Pat Kielty, 3B/RHP, (Marshfield High School)
Joe Webber, OF, (Marshfield High School)
Plymouth Post 40:
Tyler Morini, 2B, (Massassoit Community College)
Kenny Drew, RHP, (Plymouth North High School)
Wareham Post 22:
Tom Cummings, P/OF (Upper Cape Cod Tech)
Whitman Post 22:
Ryan Amado, C, (Whitman-Hanson Regional High School)
Sandwich Post 188:
Brady Doherty, 2B, (Sandwich High School)
Joe Oriola, RHP, (St. John Paul II High School)

— Sean Walsh is the sports editor for His email is [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter @coachwalshccbm

About NewsCenter

The award-winning NewsCenter provides the Cape Cod community with a constant, credible source for local news. We are on the job seven days a week.

Speak Your Mind

737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy