Eight Cape Cod Towns Hold Spring Elections

YARMOUTH – Voters went to the polls in eight towns across Cape Cod Tuesday, electing new selectmen and passing several tax overrides.

Here’s what they decided:

YARMOUTH: Incumbent selectmen Erik Tolley and Norm Holcomb topped the ticket for two available seats, holding off challenges from Joe Glynn and Joshua Richards.

In the race for Dennis-Yarmouth Regional School Committee, incumbent Joe Tierney defeated challengers Michelle Conover and Joe Glynn.

Tax override questions seeking money to fund Yarmouth’s share of the regional school budget and the Cape Cod Regional Technical High School building project both passed.

FALMOUTH: In the race for selectmen, incumbent Doug Jones defeated challengers Marc Finneran and Alexander Gessen.

For school committee, Natalie Kanellopoulos, Kelly Welch and John Furnari won three available seats.

Charlotte Harris and Robert Leary won seats on the planning board. In the race for Falmouth library trustee, Kathleen Murray, Margaret Finnell and Kathie Mount were elected.

DENNIS: It was a close race for selectmen in Dennis, where Christopher Flannagan came in first for one seat on the board by 16 votes over Dustin Pineau. Carl Monroe and Walter Hulse finished third and fourth, respectfully.

A tax override to fund the town’s share of the Cape Tech project easily passed.

ORLEANS: There were no contested races in Orleans, where Kevin Galligan was the only person on the ballot for one seat on the board of selectmen.

Voters okayed ballot questions approving the creation of an Affordable Housing Trust, water quality management plan, the Cape Tech project and money for a Nauset Beach Retreat Master Plan and Design.

BOURNE: Bourne voters elected Jared McDonald and James Potter to the board of selectmen, beating Stanley Andrews, Griffin Girard and Sandra Goldstein.

HARWICH: In Harwich, Ed McManus won a three-way race for one seat on the board of selectmen, defeating Thomas Sherry and Steven Scannell.

Tax overrides for wastewater treatment and the East Harwich fire station project passed.

MASHPEE: Mashpee voters re-elected George Schmidt and Geoffrey Gorman to the school committee. Two write-in candidates, Brian Weeden and Samantha Ziehl finished out of the running.

EASTHAM: There were no contested races in Eastham.

About CapeCod.com NewsCenter

The award-winning CapeCod.com NewsCenter provides the Cape Cod community with a constant, credible source for local news. We are on the job seven days a week.

737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy