Barnstable Seniors Receive Martin J. Flynn Scholarship

BARNSTABLE – Barnstable Town Manager Mark Ells presented this years “Martin J. Flynn Scholarship” to 12 recipients last month.

The scholarship is awarded to graduating seniors in Barnstable every year after being voted on by a committee.

The committee takes into consideration academic achievement, other achievements in things such as sports and clubs, and civic and public commitment.

Ells said that they committee puts a lot of emphasis on civic duties, “they look at their civic and public commitment and volunteerism and that really is a weighted part of making this decision.”

The scholar ship is named after longtime Barnstable Selectmen Martin J. Flynn.

“I get to stand here and award a scholarship in his name and when I remember him I certainly remember a life of public service,” Ells said, speaking about Flynn.

This year’s recipients were: Kate Rose Cazeault (Costal Carolina), Julia Fone (Wesleyan University), Drew Gauthier (UMass Amherst), Tatiana Jacobs (Fitchburg State University), Samantha Pereira (Regis College), Colby Phillips (Bryant University), Brian Simoes (UMass Amherst), Julia Wiseman (American University), Rachel Aalto (UMass Amherst), Adam Beal (Mass Maritime Academy), Bridget Conway (University of New Hampshire), and Jordan Corbett (University of New England).

The Martin J. Flynn Scholarship program was established by Barnstable voters in 1985.

About Rob Woodard

Rob Woodard has been reporting on news for the NewsCenter for five years. Listen to his news reporting on 99.9 the Q, Ocean 104.7, Cape Country 104, Cape Classical 107.5 and here on
737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy