APCC Holds Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony at Dennis Inn

L-R Andrew Gottlieb & Paul Niedzwiecki

DENNIS – The Association to Preserve Cape Cod held its annual meeting and awards ceremony on Wednesday night at the Dennis Inn.

Cape Cod Commission Executive Director Paul Niedzwiecki was the featured speaker at the event, giving his presentation on “Cape Cod: A Tale of Two Economies.”

Over the past year, the organization has moved into its new location on Route 6A and picked Andrew Gottlieb as Executive Director.

Gottlieb said that the APCC’s emphasis on the coming year will be on water quality.

“In particular we’re really going to emphasize what towns need to do and can do to move ahead with a lot of the planning that’s been done to solve our wastewater management problem,” said Gottlieb.

He adds that next year they will also be looking to launch a state of the waters report.

There were also several people in the environmental field that were honored at the meeting, including Gary Moran with MassDEP who received the APCC’s Esther Snyder Award for Environmental Excellence.

The election for positions on the organization’s board of directors took place at the meeting.

Kris Ramsay was nominated for his first term on the board while Margo Fenn, Blue Magruder and Robert Summersgill were each nominated to serve another term on the board.

“It’s a nice opportunity to take advantage of a time to gather your members together, celebrate some of the successes and some of the individual accomplishments that people on Cape Cod have done to improve the environment,” said Gottlieb.

By JUSTIN SAUNDERS, CapeCod.com Newscenter

About CapeCod.com NewsCenter

The award-winning CapeCod.com NewsCenter provides the Cape Cod community with a constant, credible source for local news. We are on the job seven days a week.

737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy