Maria Mitchell Association Recognizes 4 Women at Inaugural Symposium

Meg Urry, left, Dava Sobel and Jill Tarter, right, were recipients of the Maria Mitchell Women in Science Award earlier this month.

NANTUCKET – The Nantucket Maria Mitchell Association awarded its Women in Science Award to four recipients earlier this month.

The awards were presented at the close of the first Maria Mitchell Women in Science Symposium in Babson which was held October 5 and 6.

The award, which was founded in 1996, was designed to recognize an individual or group whose efforts have encouraged the advancement of girls and women in the natural and physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, computer science and technology.

Awardees this year were Dava Sobel, a former New York Times science reporter and author of several books; Jill Tarter, the Chair Emeritus and former Director of the Center for Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence; Meg Urry, Israel Munson Professor of Physics and Astronomy and Director of the Yale Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics; and Kate Kirby, the executive officer of the American Physical Society.

All four women were keynote speakers during the symposium.

The symposium was created to promote and support women and girls in the STEM fields.

The event also honored the 200th birthday of Maria Mitchell, America’s first woman astronomer.

About NewsCenter

The award-winning NewsCenter provides the Cape Cod community with a constant, credible source for local news. We are on the job seven days a week.
737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy