CCBL Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is Saturday

HARWICH–The Cape Cod Baseball League (CCBL) will be welcoming eight individuals into its Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Former CCBL Commissioner Paul Galop, current manager for Yarmouth-Dennis Scott Pickler, and Umpire in Chief Nick Zibelli will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame, along with major leaguers Kyle Schwarber and Conor Gillaspie as well as former stars of the league Brad Linden, Chris Overman, and Shaun Seibert.

Galop reflected upon previous installments of the annual induction, explaining how it brings familiar faces back to Cape Cod and sparks memories that span across generations of the game.

“When those guys come back, they all have the same comment: ‘It was the greatest summer of my life, if only I knew it then,'” Galop said.

Sol Yas will be receiving the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award at the event as well. Yas has served in many roles during his tenure, from deputy commissioner and director of officiating for the league, to general manager with the Brewster Whitecaps.

Galop showed appreciation for Yas’ years of service, and said he embodies exactly what makes the CCBL special.

“I couldn’t have done it without him…The heart and soul of the Cape League is the volunteers, there’s just no two ways about it,” Galop continued.

“If you don’t have the volunteers, you don’t have the Cape Cod Baseball League.”

The CCBL Hall of Fame induction will be held at the Wequassett Resort and Golf Club.

For more information, visit

About Brendan Fitzpatrick

Brendan, a recent graduate from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, is one of the newest members of the NewsCenter team. When not on the beat, you'll probably find him watching Boston sports.
737 West Main Street
Hyannis, MA 02601
Contact Us | Advertise Terms of Use 
Employment and EEO | Privacy